OtakuBoards

FFIV Rydia/Bahamut image

Guest anarashka

Guest anarashka
This little tale is kind of long, and my apologies for it, but I do want my reasonings to be part of this peice of art.

I am not a visual artist. I specialize in music and have been an active woodwind instrument player for over 8 years, and I have written many peices of poetry in the last 15-16 years or so. However, I cannot even draw a decent looking stick figure. I have all these fantastic images in my head but I just can't get them on paper.

Having said that, here's my story:

When I was about 8, my father gifted me with a SNES and Final Fantasy IV (at the time, US 2). It was my first RPG ever, and it literally changed my life. At 8, I didn't always understand what was happening during the story line jumps, and the game was poorly translated. My father often sat with me to explain what was happening, words I didn't understand, battles that I couldn't quite grasp. We spent many many hours discussing character development and plot lines, as well as monsters and strategies. We laughed and cried together, celebrated victories and mourned the passing of characters together. He was with me when I beat the game the first time, I remember I was so scared but he was with me and everything was fine.

This tradition continued as I became more and more immersed in other Final Fantasies. We often raced to see who could beat the games first, who could get all the secrets. We spent almost every waking moment discussing the latest game project, comparing notes and strategies (much to the annoyance of my step-mother). The only game he beat me in was Earthbound. My father passed away near Christmas time, 1996, after spending a few years in various states of declining health. I was 12 and it nearly destroyed my world.