OtakuBoards

The ACT

cancer

Alright, in June I am taking the ACT test. I really need to make at least a 21 on this, and so now I'm studying really hard every night. I dread math the most, and then science. If anyone could give me advice or links to good math sites I would appreciate it. I also dread the time limit *sigh*.

[color=#b0000b][size=1]You've probably already taken several standardised tests that have the same format as the ACT, so you should be familiar with it. (If you're not sure, look at your test prep booklet--I'm pretty sure they come free with the registration materials--and take the practice test.) Just make sure you know how it is set up, so you know what is coming.

Your local library is almost 100% guaranteed to have test prep books as well. If you want "professional" advice, check out the ACT for Dummies or something like that. Possibly your high school library will have copies of those sorts of books as well.

As for math and science:

1.) Remember that all the math _can_ be done without a calculator. Now, I recommend using a calculator (it saves a lot of time), but you don't need to do anything fancy with it! Don't start using weird functions--remember that they aren't needed. If you've got no clue how to start, skip it and come back to it later. I circle my "do this later" problems in the test booklet, to make sure I don't forget. It helps. (On another note, make sure you are using the calculator you are most familiar with. Don't buy a new calculator just for the ACT--it will be more trouble than it is worth.)