OtakuBoards

Free Yourself [Banner]

Young Cheezy

[font=Comic Sans MS][color=Gray][i]Hello[/i] Otakuboards members. This is my first time posting a banner on this forum, and since most of you dont know who I am here is a breif history about me in the graphics world.

I've been working on graphics, whether it be spriting, vectoring, or banners since July 2003. I love creating things from scratch and browsing other peoples galleries. I would really like to improve so I am posting my artwork here hoping for some constructive critiscm. Ive been working on graphcis on and off so keep in mind this is my first stab at a banner for 3 roughly three months. [/color][/font]

[img]http://img296.imageshack.us/img296/7039/freeyourself5zr.jpg[/img]
[font=Comic Sans MS][color=Gray]
I hope you all like it.[/color][/font]

[SIZE=1]Hey... I remember you posted in my thread -- welcome back to the Studio.

All in all, this is a pretty good banner. The colors definetly work together -- the feeling of falling through a sky at dusk. Very well done there. I love the skydiver, but not the stroke you applied to him -- I think you should lower the opacity to it, and that would be perfect. The typography in the background took me some time to recognize it, but when I did I didn't like it. The l's obstruct the flow of the picture (left to right). The "Free Yourself" I actually think it was a good touch -- and is the icing on the cake. Wonderful job there.

If I may ask you, what font is "Free Yourself" in? I've seen it on so many banners, and I want to use it myself. Thanks.[/SIZE]

[font=Comic Sans MS][color=Gray] Wow, thanks for the critique Retribution. I'm actually starting to like this place, because every other forum I've posted my art at they either say "its gewd" or "it sux". But I can really improve from comments like this. Anyway, the stroke didnt go as well as I planned it would. I was going for the effect that the skydiver would be standing out against the background.