OtakuBoards

The Browne Review: University Cuts

Vicky

http://www.guardian.co.uk/education/2010/oct/15/browne-review-universities-cuts

Also just google 'University Cuts Browne Review' .etc to get the low-down if you're not too up on it.

So basically we're expected to be in about 18k worth of debt in University... [i]without[/i] maintence loans.

I was just wondering what everyone thought of this. For example, they're uncapping the fees from the standard £4,000< to... unlimited. Some courses can now charge up to £17,000. That's out of our pocket and what we have to pay.

I think this is really a UK happening but as a student I'd like to know what everyone thinks. To recover from the Recession there's obviously a lot of cuts but I think education is the biggest rattle; we have a nation of [i]benefits[/i], where people take the tax payers money and moan about "I've got no qualifcations I can't find a job!" so we pay for them to smoke crack and sit on their arse. Well, the majority, at least. So rather than pull people out of debt by investing, we decide to put the most vulnerable and valuable assets of our society in massive amounts of debt: students and degree holders.

Tax payers (ie: working class mostly) are complaining that they don't want to pay for mickey-mouse qualifications and students only get drunk and fail. Ok, so why should I pay for benefits? Some people do find a job and just use benefits as a fall back, but the majority cheat the system, stay on the system and smoke drugs.

There's no respect for education in this country, and education should be the most respected thing around. It's not where you're from, it's where you're at.