OtakuBoards

What's your style?

Dragonettie

Hello everyone.
I'm asking all of you, do you know a style of martial art?
If so, then where did you learn it, and how long have you been a practitioner?
I currently study Choy Le Fut kung-fu though I'm skilled at many others.I started learning about two years ago from an instructional video series. Its a great style and is concidered to be one of the most powerful styles.
So I'm asking you, "Whats your style".:D

I took Kenpo (Kempo, w/e) a couple years ago. I didn't like it that much, since we never really did anything except do pushups and blocking forms. For a year and a half straight. So I quit. I wanna take some kind of sword style though. Bushido *thumbs up*

I do Kendo (Japanese sword martial arts)... currently a rank away from Dan (black belt). Its pretty hard since you have to control the sword as a part of your own body, which takes some time to get used to. And even before you get to touch the sword, theres the whole respect to master, peer, correct way to bow to the masters and the dojo, etc. etc. Putting on the actual armor is usually a year or two after you begin -_- sigh... 7 years and still not blackbelt...

Eh. Damnit. i do Martial Arts, but we don't generally call it it's correct name. I can't remember what it is called. I asked my teacher about it last week. G something? I don't know. it is quite fun anyway. It is a mix of what he has learnt: Jujutsu and some other thing. he is a fifth dan. I am currently at Green belt out of,:
White, yellow, 2 oranges, green, blue, 5 browns, 5 blacks.

It is ok, but not that far. My class isn't strict though. It is quite relaxed. Probably because he can't afford to lose all the people that wouldn't come if it was strict, especially in this small town.