OtakuBoards

Elk (from .hack// games) drawing

DDG

[color=navy]I drew this the other day. All I had to draw on was lined paper. I colored it with pastels. They got all over my hand and so they smeared off of my hand onto the blank spots on the paper. This is my first attempt at drawing Elk. Also my first attempt at drawing this kind of style of art. Normally I draw like Dragon Ball Z style. Critiques welcome.

Oh, and I also had to resize it so it looks a little funny.[/color]

[IMG]http://www.otakuboards.com/attachment.php?s=&postid=535739[/IMG]

[color=navy]Heh, I know he does look a little crosseyed doesn't he?

I think I might draw him again tomorrow. Probably won't get to scan and then post the pic till next weekend though. I'll try and work on the cross eyed thing.[/color]

Oil pastels ... grr, writing 'easily blendable' on the pack of those things is just the company's idea of a cruel joke...

Okay, I've never seen this character, so I'll just have to use your banner and avatar as references. To begin with, he doesn't look desperately cross-eyed to me - more like he's looking down at something very close to his feet. Compared to the pictures you have of him, there's a few matters of proportion. His face is rather elongated, as is his neck, so I'd shorten them a bit. His purple drape thingy ought to come down a bit more over his shoulders, too. After those more important things have been done, you could add a little more tonal contrast to give depth to the image and hence more detail. Other than that, it's good as a first attempt - good attention to the character generally. ^_^ Well done!

Hehe, it looks like a fly landed on his nose and he's trying to get it. ^^
Yes, pastels have the tendency to smear all over the freakin' place and go everywhere except your drawing. That's the annoying part about them.
On the plus side, they have a good soft effect to them, so it sorta looks like chalk. Which is cool. :D