OtakuBoards

Help with this picture

OpS

Okay, here goes . . . I'm kinda stuck on this drawin' and need suggestions 'bout the sword, especially. I hate it! I'm not too good with weaponry.

Help me out, please so I can finsih this drawin'.

Oh, and 'bout the pic--it's a character I created "Jaki", japanese for imp! I'm workin' on different styles of her--this is just one of 'em--the others are still in my head. *lol*
I'd like to do my own manga one day--workin' on it, slowly.

[url]http://i7.photobucket.com/albums/y299/IgnisFerus/Jaki.jpg[/url]

Very nice work. I am loving the details on this character design. It is very creepy, but you obviously intended that.

Before I go on to talk about the sword I have to mention one thing that is bothering me very much about the proportions. Her body is almost the same length as her legs. Most people's legs are twice their body length. Even for a stylized form, which your art seems to be more on the realistic side anyways, the legs are WAY too short and they're bothering me very much at the moment.

In regards to weaponry I have to applaud the elongated finger you drew because it is very well rendered *claps* The sword on the other hand, to put it simply, gives me no idea whatsoever as to what material it's made out of. The way that you have the cross things held in it looks like it would be made out of wood, but that would be a very ineffective weapon. The hilt is an interesting design, but you should have more of a rim (I'm not sure what the real name for it is) that separates the hilt from the blade. It kind of looks like you tried to draw one but decided not to. To be perfectly honest, it looks more like an item used for a ritual dance than a weapon. Maybe you should attempt a simpler weapon, or at least look at reference material and build off from there. Either that, or draw some technical sketches of how you imagine the weapon on its own and then add it to this character design.