OtakuBoards

Social Hierarchies

Redemption

[size=1]I'm not sure whether this will cause a stir with the recent thread in the Suggestions forum or not, but here goes.

I've been on this site for about 2 years now and I've seen a lot of things change around here. When I was a newbie, I was very intimidated by the posting standards of this place. I also realised that there were some sort of social hierarchy to this site. As I stayed longer, I saw these social groups more and more closely.

I pose the question to you. Do you think OB has a social ladder where there is a 'top' group and other groups? Are some users categorised because of where they post most often?[/size]

[quote name='Dare][size=1']I pose the question to you. Do you think OB has a social ladder where there is a 'top' group and other groups? Are some users categorised because of where they post most often?[/size][/quote]

[color=crimson]Perhaps. What does it matter if there is? I don't see any exclusivity being given to anyone, no one is benefiting from things that others are not. The only people that are [i]really[/i] treated different are people who arrive and post like little twits all over the place.[/color]

[quote name='DeathKnight][color=crimson']Perhaps. What does it matter if there is? I don't see any exclusivity being given to anyone, no one is benefiting from things that others are not.[/color][/quote]

[size=1]I am aware of that. I was just wondering if anyone, particularly new users, felt that there are groups in OB.

I was told, before I entered university, that there was no social hierarchy there, but after experiencing a year of it, I know well that there are such things. I was curious to know if this situation was applied to the internet as well, forums specifically.[/size]

Guest D. Resurrected
Yes there is definetly one.For example I used to post a bunch in the anime area but now I post in the loung.My social group has shifted.