OtakuBoards

Deus's news from the cutting edge of science

Dan L

Since I'm doing a degree in sciences (Physics and Biochem) I have to 'expose' my self to certain bits of scientific literature every now and then. I just get a weekly magasine called new scientist. Some bits can be pretty.... interesting... others can be strange... The rest of it will be pretty dull to most of you so I'll give u a little brief outline of the interesting and strange bits.....

1- Anti gravity-
some of you may have heard this already but, NASA has decided to invest $600,000 into research by a physicist named Evgeny Podkletnov, who claims to have discovered a way to shield matter from gravity. I wont go into the details of how he does it, but he found this effect in 1992 by mistake in an experiment, and found about a 2% weight loss in the mass used in the experiment. a few others around the world have seen this effect too, with up to 8% weight loss, and research is now being done to reach higher levels of effectiveness, but no-one is yet willing to show anyone else the experiments for security reasons, after Podkletnov invited japanese scientists to his lab and they tried to bribe his technicians.

2- The Quantum game-
I've said something in an earlier post about game theory, the branch of mathematics that allows mathematicians to decide what actions a person or group must take to get the best outcome, but anyway thats what it is. Mathematicians have recently studied a three player Prisoners' dilemma, a game where there are three prisoners which can either snitch on their friends, or say nothing. Ultimately, the result is that they all snitch as this has the most benefit for the one person. However, by using quantum rules (i.e. you can do both at the same time :confused: , confusing eh....) the best result is apparently when one does nothing, another betrays, and the other does both.... yeah, now i just gotta figure out how to do both.

3- Strange new patent-