OtakuBoards

Dagger's Poetry

Dagger

Er... yeah. Exactly what the title of the thread implies. Criticism is very much appreciated. ^__^

[b]The Turning[/b]

One day, I stopped caring where he was,
whether the world that he occupied
could be seen from where I stood,
alone and malcontent.

Well, malcontent no longer-- I found
something bright outside of him,
beyond what I thought was good,
something which sulked within myself
until new distance broke it free.
Fresh air, solitude, words scribbled hastily
and tucked into my pocket.
Creased and folded, that paper
would stay with me for a while.

Not quite a revelation. Just the knowledge
that I didn't need him, that perfection
lay hiding in my hands--
it's a simple sort of peace.
I'll tell him when the time is right. When
winter wheels into rebirth, when the stars
cycle through to spring.

Someday, when I have the strength to shed
those last shackles and stand alone.

~Dagger~

[size=1]I'll make this clear right now, I'm no expert with poetry or anything, and frankly I've never done well with it. But I like this a lot. Especially the first couple lines, and from "Not quite a revelation.." to "...simple sort of peace."

The middle verse, for that matter, is attractive to me because it's more action oriented, instead of just a person's thoughts. It tells a story. Well, the entire poem does, in a way, but.. oh... bah hum bug lol.

It's a very calm, serene poem and I like the quiet confident feeling I get from it. It's refreshing. That, and the style in which you have it written... I've always preferred free-form poetry to anything else. Though I'm only assuming this has no form - after all, I'm no poetic genius. ^_^ The last two lines remind me of a couplet though, and that makes me feel smart. Oh dear. But I digress.

Very pretty, and [i]very[/i] well written. I lurv eet![/size]

Arcadia, you are my hero....ine. Without you, I wouldn't be able to keep any of my threads alive. Thank you so much for commenting! ^__^