OtakuBoards

What do you bring to music?

Sir Kyle

[SIZE=1]Just curious as to what everyone who reads these boards does musically themselves.

Personally, I have been a musician since the 5th grade (I'm now in college so it's been a few years.) When I say musician, for myself I mean that I've played at least one musical instrument since that time and that I can read music and understand nearly all elements of theory.

I play the trombone and it's most definitely my primary instrument. This is what I started on back when I got into music and I've played it for over 9 years now. It's what I learned every aspect of music on and I'm glad to say that I'm fairly good at it. During high school, I worked my way up to first chair in both the jazz band and in the concert band and from there when I went away to college, I joined the marching band here and that's what I've been doing ever since.

Also, I play the guitar and bass guitar. I don't have nearly as much experience and skill with these instruments as I do with the trombone, but I play here and there. I enjoy my Ibanez Talman the most of all since it was my first guitar and has sounded great ever since I picked it up.

I find it really great if someone is able to play a musical instrument because it's such a wonderful art and it's a shame more people don't play something than there is right now. I also find that people who are musicians (whether they sing or they play) are "better" (purely opinion) critics of all types of music. With experience and actually knowing all the hard work it takes to learn an instrument you realize how much talent bands have and that no one really "sucks" so to speak.

So what do you guys bring to the table? Do you play an instrument or instruments, do you sing, do you do both, or do you just sit back and let others do that for your listening pleasure?[/SIZE]