OtakuBoards

What to know about Japan

Sojio

Hey Guys/Gals,

I’m in my final year of high school and in 2009 I was planning to go and teach English (language) in Japan as a part of a certificate course offered here in Australia.

I’m currently learning Japanese which is the reason I’m not planning on going until 2009 ( i think it will take a while to learn).:animeangr

I’ve never been to Japan and I was in search of some advice from anyone who has traveled there for holidays etc.

Mainly things like what to see, what to expect, and hints and tips on things that I should or shouldn’t do. :catgirl:

[SIZE="1"]Ah, how awesome. I visited Japan in June/July. It was a great experience.

While there I did meet two guys who were living there and teaching english. Both were from diffrent parts of england. The older gentlemen(Jonothan) spoke fluent Japanese. The other guy was Callan, he was twenty-four I think. Callan spoke no Japanese atall, except for a few words he picked up from the kids of course.

Callan told me his job was quite easy. He told me that he taught elementary school children. In the monring he played football with them, which I guess would be like gym or P.E., whatever its called over there. Then lunch, then he taught them basic words, I mean really basic words. For example, one day he said he did a whole class on fruits and vegetables. Of course the teacing varies I'm sure, especially from age groups.

Teachers are required to basically dress formal when teaching in Japan, however this probebly varies aswell. I know Callan didn't follow this code, lol.

As for the traveling and getting around. For me, since I only know a few words of Japanese, when paying for something if I wasn't sure of the price, or what the cahier said, I would basically hold out my money and look confused, this works. Japanese are very polite, and its rare to be ripped off. However, it is possible.