OtakuBoards

good drawing books for beginners

Guest TrueBlue

Guest TrueBlue
[SIZE=4][SIZE=2]hi, i'm new and i'm an aspiring manga artist. I really won't to learn how to draw manga so could someone give me some good how to drawing manga books. thanx in advance.[/SIZE][/SIZE]

It really depends on what you need help with.

Rather than a manga book, I always recommend people check out how to draw "real" anatomy (rather than a manga book). It helps a lot ^^ It's easier to draw a person in manga/anime style when you understand how to draw a real person.

Most books on real anatomy are pretty complicated though ^^; and I don't like the how to manga book on anatomy T_T

But, to recommend a how to manga book...

There's a series of books (I forget who they are by, i'm not sure if it's part of the how to manga series or if it's someone else?) that come in pastel colored covers... Ithink there are three of them? one is green, one is pink, and I don't know the other one (I think that's 2 and 3 XD; I don't own the first one) but it goes through how to draw various poses and some other things (I can't remember all of it since I don't have the book with me, but I know it covered expressions also) and various types of characters. I rather like them ^_^ and found them really helpful

The how to manga book on screentone is amazing *heart* but prolly more complicated than you are looking for ^^; I've seen it come with and without screentone to practice with though (it's the same price, either way). But I found it tons helpful (and I love working with tone now XD). The art in it, however, is pretty much all fan service and might as well be hentai T_T if you can get past that, the book is great.