OtakuBoards

Plead Your Case

Blayze

[size=1]Bassists are, in my opinion, a much over-looked quantity in music. They are often forgotten, but are always there, providing a thumping rhythm line in combination with the drummer.

Overlooked for merely having four strings instead of six is unfortunate, and I am here to put right this degredation. Being a bassist myself, I understand how frustrating it is for a key member of the band to be overlooked and forgotten, so this thread is for bassists everywhere.

Some of the greatest musicians of all time have, in my opinion, been bassists. From Jack Bruce of [i]Cream, [/i]the lead singer and master blues bassist, to the greatest bass player of all time, Jaco Pastorius of [i]Weather Report, [/i]there have been countless great bassists.

However, there are some who are well-known to all, and for these few I am grateful. Flea of the [i]Red Hot Chili Peppers, [/i]John Entwistle of [i]The Who.[/i] These two are among the lucky few who stand out as well as their respective guitarists.

Then there are those solo bassists, of whom many people think they are pretentious, arrogant musicians, but it is my belief that anyone should be allowed to solo, whether it is the singer, guitarist, drummer or, in fact, the bassist. Billy Sheehan, Stu Hamm and John Paul Jones, we salute you.

So remember, next time you are listening, or watching a band, do not forget the bassist in a haze of guitar-loving passion. Think of these misunderstood musicians who have put their lives into their work, only to be lost in the sands of time...

---

Now it is your turn. I have pleaded my case for bassists to be brought further into the limelight, now you plead your case. Whether you play guitar, drums, trumpet, saxophone, mandolin, banjo, french horn or keyboard, I want you to tell us why your people should be remembered.