OtakuBoards

Mary Sues/Self Insertion?

MillieFan

What's your opinion on this form of fanfiction?

I really think it's sad and a sign that the writer needs some major psychiatric help. I mean, I [i]totally[/i] understand admiring, um, really well-drawn bishounen :love: :drunk: and I'm a fangirl in almost every sense of the word, but these kind of fanfics just make me cringe.

The best example of it is one that I found on fanfiction.net while looking for fanfics on one of my favorite characters (and if you want to see it, PM me. I can't find the link right now and I never put it in my favorites, for obvious reasons). It's listed as parody, but I've seen similar fics done in all seriousness and it utterly sickens me.

And yes, the attachment is a totally irrelevant picture from the collection on my hard drive. There is no real relevance to the topic at hand. So sue me.

Being a fanfic writer myself (and with my main story being somewhat of a Mary Sue- the link's in my signature), I'm inclined to say that not all of them are bad. The ones where one of your own characters gets romantically involved with another can be awkward and clunky, not to mention out of sync with the parameters already set by the show. I tried that once and decided to scrap the idea, not least because I could think of an original character much better than the first, heh.

I don't like blowing my own trumpet, but mine only half-involves the main characters from the series, so new characters can be introduced while still retaining the old ones to keep stalwart fans interested (I hope). Having an entirely new cast of characters can be annoying and boring if they're not written in an interesting enough way. But then again you have the problem of being able to get the characters from the series right.