OtakuBoards

Beginnings of an Addiction...

Shinmaru

I'm really big on nostalgia, especially in the world of video games. Nothing makes me happier then to go and revisit a game that I haven't played in years, so that I can relive the fond memories that I enjoyed when I first played them.

Anyway, I've been thinking a lot lately about the game that first hooked me into video games, Super Mario Bros. 3.

I'd been playing video games for a couple years before I played SMB3 (I've been playing since I was three years old, in case you cared). I played on and off but I wasn't old enough to develop an attachment to video games and they never really held my attention. I was about five years old when SMB3 came out and I got quite addicted to the game.

I was completely enthralled with it when it came out. I loved it because it was simple fun; I wasn't old enough to understand and appreciate the gameplay mechanics and the hard work that went into making them, but still...I loved this game like no other. The bright, colorful graphics...the fun characters...the great power-ups...these were the things that attracted my attention and commanded me to play this game every chance that I got.

Ever since that day, I've been playing games just about everyday. And it's great to go back and play the games that I first played in my early days because I can better appreciate them. I can notice the controls that are simple in design and never get complex, so that they draw everyone into playing the game. I can see the strategy involved with each power-up and their different abilities and attacks. I can appreicate the rich cast of enemies and the different attacks that they employ against you. I might not be able to enjoy these games on the simple level that I did in my youth, but I can appreciate them on a more complex, thinking level today.