OtakuBoards

Our Generation in a Nursing Home

ChibiHorsewoman

[color=#9933ff][font=monotype corsiva][size=4]Okay not the best sounding thread title ever, but I haven't made a thread in months.

Anyway last Friday the activity guy and I were doing the female residents' nails and talking about how the residents aren't allowed blue nailpolish or glitter unless it's on their care plans because they didn't grow up with blue nailpolish and the like. So then we got on a discussion of how when our generation is in a nursing home you'll see old men with black nails and guy liner rolling down the halls with women wearing neon coloured nailpolish.

Now I don't know how true that is, but that got me to thinking about what other people think it may be like when our generation becomes the geriatric generation. So by all means if you have an idea bring it up. This could be interesting. At least to me. But I make my living with geriatrics.[/color][/font][/size]

[quote name='Lunox'][font=trebuchet ms] I'd rather die early than live in a nursing home, tbqh.[/font][/QUOTE]

[color=#9933ff][font=monotype corsiva][size=4]Actually I think it depends on the nursing home. The one I did most of my hospice cases was really nice. They did happy hours once a month with alcohol and it was almost like apartments. It also smelled better than the one I work in now.

Now the ones that look like institutions I think if my kids send me there I'll stop eatting so I can haunt the damn place.

Tapeperson: We don't have a Lady Gaga in any unit where I work. But up on my friend's unit there's a resident who strips when she feels the need to do so. She was doing it last week so they wouldn't send her down to wait for the pediotrist with me. Instead her own CNA had to go with her when it was her turn. My friend also has a guy who marks his territory.

I want to be the lady who tears down the hallways running over CNAs at random. [/color][/font][/size]