OtakuBoards

Does my first (and only haha) banner suck?

Guest Midnight Rush

Guest Midnight Rush
I made this banner for my own use, and tried a bunch of things with paint shop pro. I have never used the program before, and it was mighty confusing. The colors look kinda weird and I never figured out how to use the text right lol, but it looks decent for a first try I think...

I wanted a Kaji sort of banner so... here it is.

This is your first? I say it's great for a first. I tried doing stuff with photoshop, it just came out cruddy. Anyways it's good, it can use a lil work. Maybe try to focus on pictures that blend better together, and make the text a little bigger so we can all read what it says. :) My eyes aren't what they used to be. lol

Guest Midnight Rush
i couldnt get the text to work lol, your right it should be about 5 points bigger. what did you mena by pics that blend better together? please excuse my ignorance. Thanks for your comments, much appriched.

Well...heh

First off, the text placement is way off, plus, as was already said, it could be bigger.

It looks like you've gotten lazy on the cutting out also, that really needs to be sorted out, it just looks tacky, plus its grey and white so it sticks out too much, not in a good way either.

So yeah, for a first try, its not bad. Obviously a first attempt isnt going to be anything great, and I dont want to be negative but all this "thats awesome for a first try, thats great!" that kinda stuff doesnt really get anybody anywhere.

So try and stay clear from overloading your banners with anime characters and the opacity thing, thats probably the biggest thing i'd suggest.

[color=darkred][size=1]It doesn't "suck" as such. However, there are a lot of things that could be improved. Number one, and perhaps most importantly, is a border. A simple thin black line will often do, and complement a banner nicely. A banner isn't really complete without a border I feel.