OtakuBoards

Foreign Languages

Katana

Since I'm only in seventh grade, I'm pretty new to the concept of learning a foreign language. It's mandatory that every seventh grader has to have one quarter of Spanish and one quarter of German. I'm in Spanish right now and have German 4th *dances*, and so far, I love Spanish!
I find it to be a pretty interesting language, seeing as how fast it's spoken and all. My mom teaches bilingel kids and she's amazed at how these little first and second graders can speak so fast.
I'll tell you right now why I hate German. I think it's stupid. I mean, what's the point of learning a language you'll NEVER use unless you plan on going into some sort of electronics job associated wtih Europe? I find it pointless to learn, seeing as how the Spanish population is growing and growing everyday and German is not.
I, personally, would've liked it if they (those "school board" people) have chosen something interesting, like Japanese! I have reason to back this up (besides the fact that I am a major Otaku ^^). The Japanese market is HUGE in the US! Lookie at all the stuff we get from that tiny little island country: TVs, cellphones, cars, computers, furniture, manga, anime (okay okay), food, jewelry, etc etc etc. And I don't know ONE thing the Germans give us.
If you think I'm racist, then haha. I'm not. I'm at [I]least[/I] a quarter German, so if I was racist, I'd hate myself. :blackeye: Plea, that's stupid.
*heaves heavy sigh* Okay! So what about you guys?

[size=1]I think that learning foreign languages are very exciting too!
I've found it very much more fun than any of my other subjects, though we don't have any Foreign Languages subject. ^_^;
But at least I'm going to High School now, and if so that they have a subject where I could learn Foreign Language, I would want to learn Japanese, if they do teach it. o.O
Also, I would like to learn how to speak French.
And as for Spanish, I'm learning alot of words from my friends from Mexico.