OtakuBoards

What Martial Arts Are You Into?

chibi-master

Okay, there have probably been a million of threads like this, but I'm curious. If you practice martial arts, what kind do you practice? I started karate a couple months ago and I love it! I'm studying the style 'Isshin-Ryu'. I'm not sure how to describe it at all really...sorry. But I can tell you that it is GREAT!!! So share your martial arts preferences and maybe even some interesting stories or acheivements!:animesmil

• Replies 52
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

[COLOR="DarkOrchid"][FONT="Book Antiqua"]Whoa !!!! Well, I don't really know [I]exactly[/I], but I kinda want to learn Tae-Kwon-Do. Why? Well I have this video game called Tekken, there's this totally awesome character named Hwoarang who's martial art happens to be.......well, Tae-Kwon-Do! Anyway, it just looks cool. And Hwoarang [I]is[/I] cool........:love2:[/FONT][/COLOR]

[quote name='Lunar'][COLOR="DarkOrchid"][FONT="Book Antiqua"]Whoa !!!! Well, I don't really know [I]exactly[/I], but I kinda want to learn Tae-Kwon-Do.[/FONT][/COLOR][/QUOTE]

I thought about learning Tae-Kwon-Do for a while too. But I decided against it for 2 reasons. 1.) My Dad took Karate as a kid and from what he said about it, I was very interested. 2.) You can't always use flashy foot tecniques on the streets in up-close combat. Karate covers up-close [I]and[/I] farther-away tecniques that would be useful in many situations.

[FONT="Trebuchet MS"]I did tae kwon do for 9 years. I started when i started kindergarten and stopped when i started highschool.

I know exactly the Tekken character you're talking about! He was my favorite! Partially because he did tae kwon do. I once took a tae kwon do class while anoter karate class was going. I gotta be honest with ya, tae kwon looked like more fun. The karate guys just kept going over forms and running drills while we were sparring and doing weird exercises.