College.

Claire

I'm bored.

[list]
[*]What college do you attend?
[*]What are you studying?
[*]Do you live on campus?
[*]If you're not in college yet, where do you want to go?[/list]

Right now I'm going into my second year at the University of South Florida (which isn't actually in southern Florida). I'm majoring in Creative Writing and minoring in Music Composition, because those are basically my only options. I'm not good at or interested in anything else. I just don't know what good this degree will be in real life.

I live at home since the school is only twenty minutes or so from my house on a good day. That's pretty much why I decided to go there; I was too scared to go out and live on my own or with strangers.

However, I'm seriously thinking about transferring somewhere else for my junior year. The biggest possibility is University of Florida, depending on whether or not I can get admitted.

And I have a question for experienced collegiates/alumni: is it better to live on campus or off? That is, which option is generally cheaper? If I do go to a new school I will have to pay for housing no matter what, I just want to stick with the better option. Edited by Tonks

[list]

[*]Francis Marion University
[*]Graphic Design(Major)/Music(Minor)
[*]On Campus

[/list]

As for the smarter or cheaper decision...Its better to live on campus especially since you have to pay for it anyway. In fact, some school require first time attenders to live on campus anyway that way they can envelop you into the culture of the school. When you live on campus, the price is included in your school fees so you can see exactly how much you are spending on housing. But as you go further...it might be a good idea to live in an apartment. I have a friend of mine who does that now because the upper classmen housing is super expensive at his school. So as far as living on campus or off campus...it all depends on your school rates and the rates for apartment nearby.

[list]