OtakuBoards

sub or dub?

punk alchemist

• Replies 100
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Guest kuroinuyoukai
[quote name='punk alchemist']what do you think? i like sub, because it uses the original phrases and voices of the show, but i don't want to read the show instead of watching it. but ya gotta give credit to how good dubbing is getting these days. i even have fave american voice actors! so...what do you think? :animesmil[/quote]

I agree with you. i would love to hear all anime in Japanese-but I would hate having to read the subtitles. I am taking Japanese in college, but I know very little to be watching in Japanese. Plus I like some of the voice actors like Richard Cox(Inuyasha),Paul Dobson(Naraku), and David Kaye(Sesshomaru). I guess I have gotten used to the English dubbing!

I'm dubbed all the way. Nothing else. I can't do the read and whach. I'm not good at moltitasking. Anyways dubbing is really good now a days. Like I have a ton of favorite acters. I tryed once to do the sub, that didn't work out to well. Not one bit......I couldn't whach and read. I missed like the hole show. So.........dub is for me.

Guest JerzeyKat
That depends what mood I'm in (ie; if I really feel like reading and watching, or if I'm just lazy or sleepy.) For the most part, I enjoyed subbed over dubbed because the dubbed versions lose some of the comedy in translation - not to mention, some of the English voices.

So, in short, subbed over dubbed with exceptions depending on the series or my personal mood. :D

Guest Kyoshiro Mebu
When i first began watching movies that was dub i got used to it but then my brother began getting kung fu movies that only had sub and i got used to that. So now it's all sub for me. Even if the movie has dub i have to put it on sub because i'm used to reading and it helps me learn chinese and japanese too :D